Asarco smokestacks in El Paso demolished, VIDEO

April 13, 2013

Video by Rudy Gutierrez for the El Paso Times.

Since I am no longer in El Paso, I had to watch this online. I must admit that despite my worry and concern regarding the possibility a few years back that Asarco might have reopen for business, I liked the smokestacks being a part of our skyline. Something will definitely be missing the next time I go home.

It’s interesting to get some of the former Asarco employees’ takes as Rudy captured at the end of the video. I wrote a paper on Asarco my freshman year in college and for that I interviewed one of the former employees. It was an intense conversation where the brainwashing Asarco did was pretty obvious. The man I interviewed had been treated for lead poisoning twice during the time he worked for Asarco, and yet still, he said, had the plant reopened, he would have lined back up to get his job back.

Adios, Asarco, you did more harm than good.

Read more at the El Paso Times here…

Leave a comment